Official Fantasy Cricket Partner of Hero CPL T20 2017!

A brief history of the Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League or IPL is an annual T20 tournament powered by the BCCI. IPL first originated in 2008.The 2016 edition is the ninth of the IPL and will be held in India. Apart from the 2009 edition (hosted by South Africa) India has been host to the tournament. The IPL has seen five different winners over the years with Mumbai Indians (2013 and 2015), Kolkata Knight Riders (2012 and 2014) and Chennai Super Kings (2009-10 and 2011) winning it twice whereas Rajasthan Royals (2008) and Deccan Chargers (2009) winning it once.

Know your tournament

The ninth edition of the IPL will see two new franchise teams in Pune and Rajkot thanks to the two-year suspension meted out to Rajasthan and Chennai. A pre-tournament auction (to be held on February 6, 2016) will see the eight franchise owners bidding for players. The IPL follows a league format where the eight teams play each other both home and away. The top four teams (in terms of points) later qualify for the knock-out or Preliminary stages .The league leaders play the number two team in the first Preliminary match with the winner progressing to the final. The loser of that game gets a life-line for they later play the winner of Preliminary two (three versus four) in another match. The winner of that game advances to the final.

Fan memories – 2008: When Warne and Rajasthan painted Mumbai purple!

The 2008 edition was just the start of the IPL’s incredible journey over the years. Rajasthan’s thrilling three-wicket win over Chennai in the 2008 final in Mumbai still remains etched in memory. Of course Shane Warne was the catalyst behind Rajasthan’s success as the spin-legend led from the front and skippered a feisty bunch to glory. Other noteworthy memories from that tournament include Kolkata’s Brendon McCullum blasting an unbeaten 158 against Royal Challengers Bangalore on the opening day. Also Kings XI Punjab’s Shaun Marsh dominated bowlers and won the Orange Cap for most runs in the tournament (616). And last but not the least Sohail Tanvir shined brightest amongst the bowlers as he won the Purple Cap for taking a staggering 22 wickets for Rajasthan.

You made it!

To win even more Cash with this awesome team, join more contests!


Thank you for joining this contest.


Forgot Password

Forgot Password

You had registered through FB/Google login. We recommend you to try with FB/Google to keep it simple and easy!

Log in instantly via

Facebook Google+



Don’t have an account yet? SIGN UP here

Sign up instantly!

Facebook Google+


This is where we'll send your winning and cash bonuses.

Enter between 8-20 characters. Include at least 1 number or symbol (!@#$%^). Do not use your email address. Do not use any spaces. e.g dream@12

I agree to Dream11 T&C

Already have an account, LOG IN here

Contact Us Our Apps