Official Fantasy Cricket Partner of Hero CPL T20 2017!

A brief history of the ICC World T20

The ICC World T20 first took root when South Africa hosted the inaugural edition in 2007.

The 2016 edition in India is the sixth in line.

India were winners of that inaugural tournament as they beat Pakistan in a tense finale at Johannesburg.

Since then Pakistan, England, West Indies and Sri Lanka have won the tournament in succession.

Over the years the World T20 has seen major changes with the number of teams and format being re-shuffled frequently.

Know your tournament

The 2016 edition will first have a ‘First-Round’ or pre-qualifying stage where eight Associate Nations will battle to qualify for the ‘Second-Round’ or the ‘Super 10’.

Here is a look at the two ‘First-Round’ groups.

Group A – Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman

Group B – Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan

Oman make their debut in the tournament and have since been granted full T20 status by the ICC.

The ‘Super 10’ has ten ‘full members’ (including hosts India) who have qualified on basis of ICC’s T20 rankings and are split into two groups.

Four teams (two from each ‘Super 10’ group) will play in the semi-finals (March 30 and 31) with the final to be held at Kolkata on April 3.

Here are the two ‘Super 10’ groups (sans the Associates).

Super 10 Group 1 – Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and winner group B (Q1B)

Super 10 Group 2 – India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and winner group A (Q1A)

2007 – When World T20 was at its finest!

Of course the 2007 tournament kick started a global T20 revolution thanks to that nail-biting finale which had India beating Pakistan by five runs in the last over at Johannesburg.

Misbah-ul-Haq will forever be remembered for that scoop gone wrong whereas S Sreesanth etched his name in cricketing folklore with the decisive catch.

Not to forget Chris Gayle’s memorable century against South Africa in the opener at Johannesburg and also Yuvraj Singh who slammed his way into history books after hitting Stuart Broad for six sixes in an over at Durban.

And last but not the least Brett Lee’s hat-trick against Bangladesh and also the India versus Pakistan game turning into a super-over thriller!

You made it!

To win even more Cash with this awesome team, join more contests!


Thank you for joining this contest.


Forgot Password

Forgot Password

You had registered through FB/Google login. We recommend you to try with FB/Google to keep it simple and easy!

Log in instantly via

Facebook Google+



Don’t have an account yet? SIGN UP here

Sign up instantly!

Facebook Google+


This is where we'll send your winning and cash bonuses.

Enter between 8-20 characters. Include at least 1 number or symbol (!@#$%^). Do not use your email address. Do not use any spaces. e.g dream@12

I agree to Dream11 T&C

Already have an account, LOG IN here

Contact Us Our Apps